Our 1st Anniversary

My husband and I just celebrated our first year wedding anniversary on May 8, 2011.  I can’t believe a year has gone by since our wedding day…..I still feel like we are newlyweds.  So question to all of you blog readers……how long are you considered newlyweds?

On the morning of our anniversary I was woken up to the smell of bacon.  When I went into the kitchen my husband was making pancakes…yum.  We had pancakes, bacon and of course a special breakfast wouldn’t be complete without mimosas.  We even got to dust off the champagne flutes we used on our wedding day.  I should have surprised him and came out for breakfast in my wedding dress….lol.  Hey I would wear that dress every day if I could 🙂

After breakfast we just relaxed and my husband and I each bought each other an anniversary gift…so we got to open up presents.  I stayed true to the 1st year traditional anniversary gift and I got him something to do with paper.  I found a great shop on Etsy called myarttocherish who takes your pictures and edits them and then add words or poems to them.   I got my husband an 11×14 picture of our first wedding dance and had her put our wedding song lyrics on it…It turned out really cute.   My husband didn’t follow tradition, and I didn’t mind when I opened up a beautiful necklace that matched the earrings he gave me at our rehearsal dinner last year.

We had made reservations for dinner at The Capital Grill.  They knew it was our anniversary and when we got seated there was a nice card stating Happy Anniversary at our table….I kind of felt like I was on my honeymoon again because they would do that kind of thing in Jamacia.  The Capital Grill was great, we got complimentary champagne and free dessert.  I tried not to eat to much of the dessert because I knew I had the top of our wedding cake defrosting for dessert when we got back home.   When we got home we cut our cake, and we both had a piece….let me tell you it wasn’t bad at all.  The frosting was just as good as ever and the cake itself was not bad at all…..I really expected worse.

 After dinner and after the cake cutting we opened our 1st bottle from our wine bottle guest book collection.  We read all of the guests signatures, and they were really funny.  You can definetly tell who signed in the beginning of the night and those who signed later after a couple of cocktails…lol.  It was a nice moment and a great way to reminisce about the day and who was there.  After we finished the wine bottle, I rinsed the wine bottle out and now it found its place in the wine rack in the dining room.  Even though the bottle is now empty, I’ll never throw those bottles out they have too much meaning. Wow now I have to wait 4 more years to open another bottle for our 5th Anniversary. 

We are now selling Wine Bottle Guest Book Kits, since there was a lot of interest in them after our wedding.  Please check out our shop on Etsy if you would like to have this unique guest book option at your wedding or if you have any questions.

XO Vicki

2 thoughts on “Our 1st Anniversary

Leave a comment